Response 4, Part I

February 20, 2009

1959-1960:

As I sit in my house in South Florida, I cannot help the constant sweat that has been plaguing me over the past few months. I am not wise beyond my years, but I know enough to know a hurricane is heading this way. I have lived in Florida for all of my 22 years on this earth and have experienced many a hurricane. I have helped my father board up the house, we have stocked up on supplies, and hoped for the best, but I fear that this could be the last hurricane I ever encounter. No matter how hurricane proof my house is, and not matter how much food we stock up on, it would not matter if this storm were to hit us. It would destroy anything in its path. As I gaze eastward off the coast, all I can see is the red darkness building up its strength, watching, and waiting for the perfect time to strike. For it is only 90 miles away now, but it originated far far away. You see, this hurricane is unique; man-made even. It has the potential to destroy this country and any others that stand in its way. Turning on the news, you can tell there is much panic in the voice of the news casters. Some people are not worried, thinking or at least hoping that this country can use it’s technology to shield us from this red death, and some people are trying to figure out what they should be doing in case this storm hits. I am the ladder. My father use to tell me about hurricanes similar to this that he has lived through, but none of been a mere 90 miles off the coast. Every T.V. in America has been frozen on the news channel, receiving updates, and advice on what people should do in case this hurricane becomes a reality. But what can we do? Do we just go about our day like nothing is happening, do we sit inside and worry and feel sorry for ourselves for partly causing this hurricane, do we live life to the fullest on what could be our last days on this earth, or do we embrace the “angelheaded hipsters”, seeking for the heavenly connection? My father is a wise man, who has lived through times like these so I seek his advice knowing that he knows better than me what this country is going though. He comforts me by telling me to not just sit around and wait for the crack of doom from the hydrogen jukebox, but to have faith in my country. To have faith the the technology that we have worked so hard for, and to know that the leaders of this country will do everything in their power to protect us from the red doom just over the horizon. My father has seen worse in all his years on this earth, and so has this country. I have decided that no matter how bad or how close this storm gets, I will keep my faith in my country for as long as I call America my home.

5 Responses to “Response 4, Part I”


  1. […] 22, 2009 Posted by gbcarter in Uncategorized. Tags: Reading Response trackback When I read David’s vignette, I found it very similar in tone to several of the submissions in the class, including my own.  […]


  2. […] 22, 2009 Posted by gbcarter in Uncategorized. Tags: Reading Response trackback When I read David’s vignette, I found it very similar in tone to several of the submissions in the class, including my own.  […]


Leave a comment