Raleigh

April 22, 2009

19600211lchc_hl119600210sdsh_hl1

My father was offered a slightly better pay for a job in Raleigh, NC when I was younger, which is the main reason why we moved here. Even though it is farther North than South Caroline and Alabama, it is still just as racist. They have recently passed the final version of the civil rights bill, which strengthens federal power for equal employment and prevents discrimination in all public places. Well, at least it tries to do all of those things. There have been a large number of sit-ins lately at diners, libraries, and even in the schools. I have even participated in a few. It doesn’t make my “integration” into school any easier thats for sure. “Integration”, jeez it sounds like we are a poison, that society cannot get rid of, so the government has to integrate us slowly into society so we don’t destroy man kind! I hear it’s not a racist up north, so hopefully when I get out of school, I can head of there and find some better work, with less discrimination…

19600210bsls

One Response to “Raleigh”


Leave a comment